Frying My Face, Day 5 of the Vi Peel

Day 5! Day 5 has been joyous in that I was able to leave the house today with only minor freakishness. At this point, my skin is lightly peeling a second time in some areas, and areas around my eyes, on my forehead, and near my hairline are left to still fully peel. My face became incredibly dry, tight, and itchy late yesterday evening, and there is some irritation on my neck that has yet to go away. The skin around my mouth and nose was incredibly dry until about mid-day today, and it began to peel a second time:

Day 4 PM, dryness and more peeling!

Day 4 PM, dryness and more peeling!

Shedding and irritated neck late Day 4.

Shedding and irritated neck late Day 4.

My neck was on fire last night, so I did take an Advil and hold an ice pack on it for awhile. The redness on my neck is still there, but I’m hoping that will subside as my neck peeling and healing continues.

My skin is looking much better today, and I have to say by late afternoon, my skin was glowing. I have also noticed increased peeling on my chest.

Farewell, flaking?

Farewell, flaking?

Scalp skin fry

Scalp skin fry

Neckiness

Neckiness

Late last night before bed was probably the most irritation I’ve experienced to date in this process, and the irritation is mostly on my neck. I’ve experienced some stinging and itchiness on my face throughout this process, but by neck has been a lot more sensitive to the peel. By early afternoon, I was ready to leave the house, post-peel moisturizer and SPF 55 applied, and just a touch of brow powder:

Ecstatic to see the world again!

Ecstatic to see the world again!

 

I made sure not to leave the house without my arsenal of skin products and my trusty skin scissors, just in case they were needed. I didn’t get any funny looks while out and about, so the little peeling I do have must not have frightened anyone.

I’m looking forward for this peeling to end so I can jump back onto my normal skincare bandwagon and wear makeup, and I am hoping the freakiness on my neck subsides.  I’d still say so far, so good, though. Here’s to ending skin frying and onward to skin healing and normalcy.

Leave a Reply

